Overview
If a code is no longer needed, you can permanently remove it from your project.
Deleting a code removes:
The code itself
The code description
The code's association with all snippets
Because deleting a code affects your coded data, Delve requires confirmation before completing the action.
Warning: Deleted codes cannot be restored, use caution before removing.
Before Deleting a Code
Before deleting a code, consider whether one of the following actions may be more appropriate:
Rename the code using Rename a Code
Move the code into a different theme using Nest Codes to Create Themes
Combine it with another code using Merge Codes
Delete a Code
Locate the Codes panel to the left. The Codes panel displays when viewing Transcripts, Snippets, and Surveys.
Hover over the code you want to remove and click the pencil icon. Select Delete.
Click Yes, Delete It to confirm.
The code will immediately be removed from the project.
FAQs
Q: Can I undo a code deletion?
A: No. Deleted codes cannot be recovered.
Q: What happens to snippets that used the code?
A: The code is removed from those snippets. The underlying transcript text remains unchanged.
Q: What happens to subcodes if you delete the top level code?
A: If you delete a top level code, the subcodes will remain. Subcodes will move up one level if their top level code is removed. Subcodes must be deleted separately if they are no longer wanted.

